Product Directory
Product Installation
Product Activation

Products > ITIL > Cram Notes

 ITIL (Foundation) Cram Notes

4.8.8 Design Co-ordination Process

Design Co-ordination is a process responsible for coordinating all service design activities, processes and resources. It ensures consistent and effective design of new or changed IT services, service management information systems, architectures, technology, processes, information and metrics

A) Purpose of Design Co-ordination Process
Ensure the goals and objectives of the service design stage are met by providing and maintaining a single point of coordination and control for all activities and processes within this stage of the service lifecycle.

B) Objectives of Design Co-ordination Process

1) Ensures all aspects of the design (architecture, processes and metrics) to provide utility and warranty to meet business requirements for now and in future.

2) To resolve conflicts in demand in case of simultaneous competing projects including resources and time conflicts.

3) To ensure everyone is clear about the requirements for handing over between different lifecycle (e.g. service design package to transition phase)

4) To check whether all requirements are met and repeatable design practices are used

5) To reduce risks associated with complexity of projects.

6) To compile the service design package within inputs from various processes.

C) Scope of Design Co-ordination Process : Design Co-ordination process covers all activities in design and ensure consistency across them for new, existing and retiring services.

5. Service Transition

Service Transition establishes the services as specified in the Service Design phase, based on the customer and stakeholder requirements. A Service Transition is effective and efficient if the transition delivers what the business requested within the limitations in terms of money and other necessary resources.

5.1 Purpose of Service Transition

The Purpose of Service Transition is to ensure that new, modified or retired services meet the expectations of the business as documented in the service strategy and service design stages of the lifecycle.

5.2 Objectives of Service Transition

1) Plan and manage changes to services (either introducing new or retiring existing services) and to deploy the new services successfully to support business objectives while ensuring the integrity of all existing services

2) Ensure the service can be operated and supported according to the service design

3) Manage the risks associated

4) Set the expectations of the business with testing on the performance

5) Provide knowledge and info of the service / service assets to relevant people to ensure smooth operation.

5.3 Scope of Service Transition

1) Provides guidance for the development and improvement of capabilities for transitioning new and changed services into supported environments, including release planning, building, testing, evaluation and deployment.

2) Considers service retirement, transfer of services between service providers

3) Focuses on how to ensure that the requirements from service strategy, developed in service design, are effectively realized in service operation while controlling the risks of failure and subsequent disruption.

4) Includes the transition of changes in the service provider’s service management capabilities that will impact on the ways of working, the organization, people, projects and third parties involved in service management.

5.4 Value to Business

Service Transitions creates value for the business by improving: 

1) The ability to adapt quickly to new requirements.

2) The success rate of changes and releases for an organization.

3) The predictions of service levels and warranties for new and changed services.

4) Confidence in the degree of compliance with the organization requirements during change.

5) Clarity of plans so the business can link their organization change plans to transition plans.

5.5 Basic Concepts in Service Transition Processes

1) Service knowledge management system (SKMS): It is a set of tools and databases that is used to manage knowledge, information and data. The SKMS includes the Configuration Management System (CMS), as well as other databases and information systems. The SKMS includes tools for collecting, storing, managing, updating, analyzing and presenting all the knowledge, information and data that an IT service provider will need to manage the full lifecycle of IT services.

2) Configuration item (CI): A Configuration Item (CI) is an asset, service component or other item which is, or will be, under the control of Configuration Management. CIs may vary widely in complexity, size and type, ranging from an entire service or system including all hardware, software, documentation and support staff to a single software module or a minor hardware component.

3) Configuration management system: A set of tools, data and information that is used to support service asset and configuration management.

4) Definitive media library (DML): Is defined as one or more locations that securely store the definitive and approved versions of all software CIs.

5) Change: The addition, modification or removal of anything that could have an effect on IT services. The scope should include changes to all architectures, processes, tools, metrics and documentation, as well as changes to IT services and other configuration items.

6) Change types 

a) Standard Change: A pre-approved Change that is low Risk, relatively common and follows a Procedure or Work Instruction. For example password reset or provision of standard equipment to a new employee. RFCs are not required to implement a Standard Change, and they are logged and tracked using a different mechanism, such as a Service Request.

b) Emergency Change: A Change that must be introduced as soon as possible. For example to resolve a Major Incident or implement a Security patch.

The Change Management Process will normally have a specific Procedure for handling Emergency Changes.

c) Normal Change: Any service change that is not a standard change or an emergency change. There are three types of normal changes:

  • Minor change – authorized by change management staff directly.

  • Significant change – requires advice from change advisory board (CAB)

  • Major change – requires change proposal, business management approval

Previous               Next

Contact Us